Methodist pastor who officiated at gay son’s wedding to keep ordination @AP @LGBTQNation

Methodist pastor who officiated at gay son’s wedding to keep ordination

Monday, October 27, 2014

Rev. Frank Schaefer

Rev. Frank Schaefer

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — A Methodist pastor who was disciplined after he officiated at the wedding of his gay son will be allowed to remain an ordained minister.

The Judicial Council of the nation’s second-largest Protestant denomination ruled Monday that a Pennsylvania church jury was wrong to defrock Frank Schaefer last year after he would not promise never to perform another same-sex wedding.

The council ruled on technical grounds and did not express support for gay marriage in general. Its decision is final.

Reached by phone after the decision, Schaefer called it “amazing.”

Read more here.

3 thoughts on “Methodist pastor who officiated at gay son’s wedding to keep ordination @AP @LGBTQNation

  1. agriculteurs4sexy says:

    Nice when they throw chum to us from the front of the boat … gets more fishes. Mind, I’m Episcopalian … and the Methodists are our illegitimate children, who left us because we were too liberal. We are … for them.

    Like

      • agriculteurs4sexy says:

        I am too, Kendall … I just don’t trust organized religion, except when it’s Anglican, which means you shouldn’t pay any attention to me. By the way, I was the cutest altar boy. The day I carried the crucifix, an elderly woman told me I looked like an angel. I come from an extremely liberal family … my mother is a psychiatrist, my father a lawyer, and we had a fair bit of money. As a friend once told me, “Mark, you’re afraid of nothing.” Well … I am, though it has nothing to do with being a gay bottom (or passif as the French) say. Anyway, I shocked the poor old things purple hair to her roots when I said, “I’m a gay angel too!” When I told my mother, she imitated my father and said, “The truth is its own defense.” Yes … marry me and you enter into a world of zany craziness.

        Like

Leave a Comment

