Kennedy Center Honorees for 2014 Announced – @KCHonors

Kennedy%20Center%20Honors%20LogoThe Kennedy Center has announced it’s recipients for the 2014 honors.

In the announcement, Kennedy Center Chairman, David M. Rubenstein stated: “The Kennedy Center celebrates five extraordinary individuals who have spent their lives elevating the cultural vibrancy of our nation and the world.”

The Kennedy Center Honors medallions will be presented on Saturday, December 6, the night before the gala, at a State Department dinner hosted by Secretary of State John Kerry.

On December 7th,  President and Mrs. Obama will receive the Honorees and members of the Artists Committee who nominate them, along with the Kennedy Center Board of Trustees at the White House prior to the gala performance. The 2014 Kennedy Center Honors Gala concludes with a supper dance in the Grand Foyer.

A telecast of the ceremony will air on CBS, December 30th.

The 37th class of honorees includes…..



Al GreenR&B singer Al Green solidified his artistic status in the 1970s with smooth, radio-friendly songs that are still instantly recognizable: “Let’s Stay Together,” “I’m Still in Love with You,” “Tired of Being Alone.”







Lily Tomlin – Out actress and comedian,  Lily Tomlin became a fixture on TV’s “Laugh-In” in the late 1960s and early 1970s, starred in the 1980 hit movie “9 to 5,” which was later turned into a Broadway musical, and is now working on a Netflix series.








Tom Hanks – at 58, is the youngest member of this year’s class. He has been in some of Hollywood’s biggest and best known movies since appearing in Ron Howard’s 1984 “Splash.” Hanks won back-to-back Oscars in 1993 and 1994 for “Philadelphia” and “Forrest Gump.”








Sting – started his musical career in the formidable but short-lived three-man band the Police. He split off in the mid-1980s, and his solo career has included hit albums “Ten Summoner’s Tales,” “Mercury Falling” and “Brand New Day.”








Patricia McBride – joined choreographer George Balanchine’s school at 14, leapt into the New York City Ballet at 16, and was a soloist by 17 and a principal by 18. She danced with the company until she was 46. Here, she and Mikhail Baryshnikov perform.







The Honors recipients recognized for their lifetime contributions to American culture through the performing arts—whether in music, dance, theater, opera, motion pictures, or television—are selected by the Executive Committee of the Center’s Board of Trustees. The primary criterion in the selection process is excellence. The Honors are not designated by art form or category of artistic achievement; the selection process, over the years, has produced balance among the various arts and artistic disciplines.

The Honoree selection process includes solicitation of recommendations from the general public and an advisory committee comprised of artists, past Honorees and Kennedy Center board members. Previous Honors recipients and members of the Honors artist committee making recommendations included Edward Albee, Marc Anthony, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Harry Belafonte, Harolyn Blackwell, Glenn Close, Stephen Colbert, Christoph Eschenbach, Jose Feliciano, Sutton Foster, David Hallberg, Paloma Herrera, Hugh Jackman, Quincy Jones, Lang Lang, John Lithgow, Lourdes Lopez, Patti Lupone, Audra McDonald, Terrence McNally, Anna Netrebko, Jack Nicholson, Christopher Plummer, Sidney Poitier, Arturo Sandoval, Steven Spielberg and Meryl Streep.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s