@WritingPrompts – 7.28.14 – Hokey

For the last few weeks I have been following “Writing Prompts” on Twitter.  Every day they post several times, giving 3 words to choose from for a prompt.

I have been speed writing a paragraph in my journal to go along with the word.  I thought it may be fun to start posting this.  I don’t claim they are good, just free flow writing to keep things moving along.

Hokey

Each year, my family gathers around the tree on Christmas Eve.  It is a tradition that dates back many generations.  First, we share the story of the Christ birth, a pop-up book told from a child’s perspective may not be the most intellectual version, but it is ours.  After the reading we pass out gifts, oldest to youngest, with each person pausing to watch what the others have received.  Some people call our way of doing things hokey, I call it perfection!

 

Leave a Comment

