@OUTSPORTS – ‘I’m gay. I’m a Christian. I’m a basketball player.’

OUTSPORTS HAS BEEN DOING AN AMAZING JOB RECENLTY , SHARING THE STORIES OF GAY ATHLETES AND THEIR FAITH.  I APPLAUD THEM FOR OPENING THE DOORS TO THIS SEGMENT OF OUR GAY POPULATION AND APPLAUD THE ATHLETES WHO ARE SHARING THEIR LIVES.  BELOW IS THE STORY OF DEREK SCHELL.

outsportsSBnation

‘I’m gay. I’m a Christian. I’m a basketball player.’

College basketball player Derek Schell tells how he reconciled his faith with being gay.

 

Hillsdale College basketball player Derek Schell told his coming out story on Outsports last fall, becoming the first openly gay Division II player. In his account, he touched briefly on the role of religion in his life, but expanded on it this week in a terrific column for Crooked Scoreboard:

 

 

I’m gay. I’m a Christian. I’m a basketball player. Until a couple months ago, I could never combine these sentences. I can now confidently say I am a gay Christian basketball player. None of my identities take precedence over the others, and now there is only one: just Derek.

Read the entire story here.

 

2 thoughts on “@OUTSPORTS – ‘I’m gay. I’m a Christian. I’m a basketball player.’

Leave a Comment

