@HuffPostGay – Gay Adoption: A Birth Mother Shares Her Incredible Story

Gay Adoption: A Birth Mother Shares Her Incredible Story

Posted: 04/02/2014 12:26 pm EDT Updated: 04/02/2014 12:59 pm EDT

GAY ADOPTIVE DADS

By Mercy Verner | The Next Family

I made one of the hardest decisions of my life. It started a little over a year ago. I found out I was pregnant. I stared at the test, as if it would change. I realized that it was not going to change, and I immediately freaked out.

I didn’t know what to do. I knew I wasn’t ready. I couldn’t take care of another human being. At least, not in the way that I wanted to. I wanted my child to have more than what I had growing up.

I decided that that is what I needed to do. I needed to give my child a better life than what I could give. I went through all the options associated with adoption. I browsed many adoption websites and a few places, but none of them seemed right.

Then I stumbled across a website that dealt with same-sex couples and I learned about open adoption. I looked through the possible adoptive parents and one couple — Matt and Trey — stuck out from the rest. They looked a bit goofy, and they seemed truly happy with each other.

I explored their profile and watched a video about them interviewing their cat about being a big sister. It reminded me so much of my family, and right then and there I knew that they were the perfect couple.

As our relationship with them began to grow, they felt like part of the family. Months had gone by and things were going the way I wanted them to. I was almost ready(ish). In my head, I knew exactly what I needed to do, but my heart was aching. Emotionally, I wasn’t ready at all.

Read more here.

Leave a Comment

